#16 Texas A&M vs #15 Miss. State: Game Preview & Prediction

MSU’s Snow Bowl Uniforms

#15 MSU, is just hours away from what Dan Mullen has labeled as the most important game of the season, vs #16 Texas A&M on Saturday morning. The Aggies come to town with the SEC’s best Offense, and an aggressive Defense, with losses to only #5 LSU and #7 Florida on their resume’. State hopes to duplicate the performances of the Tiger and Gator Defenses that kept Johnny Manziel bottled up and on the sideline. After the Aggies’ 5 game winning streak was snapped by LSU, A&M set the Plains ablaze in Auburn last week, leaving town with a 63-21 victory. MSU on the other hand, is looking to get back in the swing of things on both sides of the ball, after being dominated in all facets against #1 Alabama. Anyway, let’s segway from that short preview into our Keys to Victory & Prediction (I hate the word segway, but just used it).

Keys to Victory
When I look at how these two teams matchup, there are some things that would fall in the category of just plain ‘common sense’, that jump off of the stat sheet. Other factors that could possibly influence the game, you have to dig for. So, here are my keys:

#1 Contain Johnny Manziel, #2 Turn Russell Loose, #3 Smart Special Teams Play, and #4 Create a Tough Atmosphere. Here is why I chose 3 things…

-#1 All week long, we’ve talked about Johnny Manziel and his numbers. In case you missed it, the short and sweet version is this- he’s #3 nationally in Total Offense, averaging 376 ypg. Not only that, but to go with his 276 ypg passing, he’s the SEC’s leading rusher, posting 99 ypg. The reason I said ‘contain’ and not ‘stop’ Manziel, is because I don’t think you can really cause the kid to be a non-factor. You can only limit him. And like so many great Offensive performers in CFB right now, some players are just going to get a certain amount of yards, make a certain amount of big plays, the only question is- can you force them to into mistakes, and from making so many of those explosive plays that they are known for? State has to be careful blitzing Johnny Football, because the kid thrives when opposing D’s over pursue. Lane assignments, spying, and positioning will be key for Chris Wilson’s Defense, in providing the pressure that’s needed, without letting Manziel run free. Another thing, no more ‘whiffing’ on sacks and opportunities to hit the QB, such as what we saw last week vs Bama. Poise and control in the blitzing game- essential.
-#2 One thing I predicted around week 4, and something we’ve seen with exception in the MTSU game, is Tyler Russell being allowed to put the ball in the air close to 30 to 35 times a game. This week, putting the ball in Russell’s hands and allowing him to spread it around to 10 different targets is essential. Why? A&M’s Defense allows 249 ypg through the air. That’s good for 80th nationally. Looking back, I counted 10 passing TDs that A&M has allowed on the season, but with exception to La Tech, WHO on earth have they faced that’s truly a strong, challenging QB? No one. That tells me that even against subpar passing Offenses, this Defense struggles and has issues. Throw Tyler Russell’s accuracy and poise in the mix, and he could have a field day vs the Aggies. If Russell is going to post big numbers though, the Bulldog OL must protect him from one of the SEC’s most underrated DLs, that paves the way for averages of 3+ sacks per game, as well as 6+ tackles for loss. Look for the Dawgs to pass a lot on the opening possessions, which should open up the run game.
-#3 The Bama game was an absolute disaster on Special Teams. There was a missed block that led to a blocked FG. Bad decisions in the punt return game, which includes the lack of awareness that led to a fumble and poor field position (the entire game). A 50+ yd kickoff return was negated by a fumble, and another 45+ yd return was almost fumbled away as well. Terrible night. The reason I chose Special Teams, outside of the fact that they always play an important role in every game, is due to the ‘evenness’ I see in the 2 teams. A&M’s punt coverage and net punting is as solid as MSU’s, so Banks and Co., have to be smart in the return game. When it comes to punting, Baker Swedenburg just needs to keep doing what he has done all year, which is allow ‘ZERO’ yds in returns. State is the only team in the country who hasn’t surrendered a yard on punt returns, which is an amazing stat. That’s important, because the Aggies are 13th in the country in punt returns (15 ypr), which is due to Dustin Harris. In the kicking game, A&M is 33rd in kickoff returns, while MSU is 43rd (that’s a wash, 2 yds difference). There’s also not much difference in PK between the 2 teams either. A&M- 10/16; State- 9/15. Long story short, get points when you can in the kicking game, win the field position battle, and make smart decisions when the ball is in your hands in the return game.
-#4 11 a.m. kick, dangit! I’m not a morning person (ask Andrson)…I do not like early games…which means the majority of yall probably feel the same way. But, I’ll be there yelling and ringing like crazy (responsibly). With that said, we must create a tough environment for A&M to play in on Saturday morning. Even though we are only 55,000+ strong, we offer the best atmosphere in the country per capita. Bring it Bulldog fans!!! A homecoming type crowd, that’s just waking up, will provide little energy to back our Dawgs, who need our support more than ever. Get loud and stay loud. Pre-game to post-game. A difficult atmosphere could rattle the Aggies, who have to make the long trip to Starkville for an early kick.

My Thoughts
Many of you have played baseball at some point in your life. Remember what it felt like to take the weighted donut off of your bat, and step in the batter’s box and take that first practice swing of the bat without the weight? Something tells me that State is going to experience some of that same feeling this weekend. The weight that was on the bat last week- was Alabama. That bat was heavy, weighed us down, but I think prepared us for the rest of the season. The opposition will be good, but not as stout. Not as fast. Not as physical. Don’t get me wrong, Saturday is going to be a knock down drag out. But, I think what our players went up against last week, can only help them this week. Our players are focused, ready to get the bad taste out of their mouth from last week, and are fully aware that the makings of a great season are on the line. I think State does just enough to contain Manziel, but I look for Christine Michael and Melina to hurt us more in the run game. I can see the D forcing the talented QB into 2 turnovers-1 INT and 1 fumble. I see Russell throwing for 280 yds, and the MSU run game finally having a steady aid emerge for RB LaDarius Perkins, in Nick Griffin. Call me weird, it’s the way I see it. Here’s to lookin’ good in our new unies, while not getting beat!

Prediction: MSU 34   A&M 30

Around the SEC:
UF 38  Mizzou 12
Vandy 34  UK  17
UGA  30  tsun 21
Bama 27  LSU 12

Your thoughts & predictions?

10 thoughts on “#16 Texas A&M vs #15 Miss. State: Game Preview & Prediction

  1. Civildawg

    I agree that Special Teams is going to be huge for us this week. If we can win field position this week, I definitely think we win the game. If we give them a lot of short fields, it will be very hard for us to contain Manziel with the bend but don’t break mentality. On the other hand, if we have shorter fields, it will cause their DL to be more conservative.

    I love the early game because it gives our guys the chance to go out and perform and not sit and think about it all day. I think it works in our favor this week coming off the loss to Alabama. I still think we come out a little sluggish getting back on our feet, but I think we get on our feet in the second quarter. I will predict us to win, and win a high scoring game.

    MSU – 41 aTm – 35
    UF – 27 Mizzou – 20
    Vandy – 17 UK – 10
    UGA – 30 TSUN – 27
    Bama – 20 LSU – 9

    I need you guys to yell extra hard at the game on Saturday because my wife and I will not be there. She is 38 weeks pregnant and, for reasons I can’t understand, I cannot convince her that having a baby at DWS is a good idea. I will be yelling from my couch though, maybe even a hospital room!

    Go Dawgs!

    1. Imabulldog

      Sure thing Civil, I was wondering how close she was to having the lil one. Knew it was close. Hate you won’t be there, but hey, best seat in the house is couch in front of a flat screen.

      I like your points on the early kick, maybe it’s a good thing. I know on last Saturday, it felt like forever before we actually kicked off at 7:30. Maybe this gives them a fresh mindset, and like you said, they wake up on the day and dive in, rather than thinking about it for a while.

    2. MoreCowbellPlease!

      I woke up this morning and went through my normal routine, you know grab a cup of coffee and sit at my table and read the boards and other media outlets just trying to see what everyone was saying about our game tomorrow. I’ve been back and forth on how I feel about our team in this game. Then I had a heart to heart with myself on the morning commute. The #WeBelieve movement can’t just apply to one game. We have something special, and we lost to the best team in the land. We are better than what we showed and I think our players realize that. IMA, I couldn’t agree more about having played Alabama and the experience and edge that gives us from playing such a superior opponent. I think when we line up toe to toe against these guys in the trenches, our boys will be prepared.

      I hope they let Russell wing it around, but I also think we need Perkins to hit big plays when his number is called. He has to shed a tackle or two along the way, no more going down on initial contact. I want to get back to our goal line package with Dak, and bring Griffin in to let him get those tough yards. Defense has to play stout, especially our secondary. Manziel will undoubtedly roll around and buy time so its crucial that we don’t get lost in our cover schemes. I’m looking for Banks to have a big game, I call a pick for #13. Ill be there yelling until I can’t talk, need this one boys!

      1. Imabulldog

        I like the optimism MCBell! Hopefully playing Bama last week has it’s benefits this week. Glad we came away uninjured.

        I think Perk goes for over 100, and I’m gonna give us 180 on the ground total. Think Russell will just get the ball a lot.

  2. Imabulldog

    #16 Texas A&M at #15 Mississippi State

    Jon: This game means much more to Mississippi State for several reasons, but I’m not sure they have the defense to stop Johnny Manziel and keep him from making plays. I do think it will be a shootout. Texas A&M 41, Mississippi State 38

    Kevin: This is a very interesting game. I think the Mississippi State defense will be the difference, and the Bulldogs passing game will do enough to win this game closely at home. Manziel does his thing, but is contained to a small degree. Mississippi State 35, Texas A&M 31

    This from a good article by Saturday Down South on this weekend’s game. Who is a win bigger for?

    http://www.saturdaydownsouth.com/2012/texas-am-mississippi-state/

  3. bleedmaroon

    No doubt this is a huge game. As I said before a win could propel us into a 10 or 11 win season. A loss and, well we could possibly lose the rest. I agree with your keys to the game. Our OL will need to redeem themselves after being pushed around like ragdolls last week. The main key to this game is keep our offense on the field. I agree I think we will see our O come out firing it the first couple of possessions but don’t be surprised if we get a score or two early to see us start to grind it out on the ground. We need those long time consuming drives that keep aTm’s offense on the sidelines. They are going to score and score quick, no doubt about it. But if we limit the amount of times they have the football then we limit their point total. Simple. But it comes down to our O line. We need to stay out of 3rd and 5+, something we couldn’t do against Bama. I look for Tyler to keep doing the same things hes done so well, even in the Bama game for the most part and that’s have poise and confidence and manage this offense up and down the field. I think he gets the 300 yard mark this week and I think perk and co will combine for 150. I really want to see Nick Griffin get rolling. I don’t know why its taking so long for him to come around but he has the potential to be another Vick Ballard or Dixon for us, an every down back thats tough and runs downhill and that we can ride like a mule til the final horn sounds. Don’t get me wrong, I like perk but he has shown that he can’t run between the tackles in SEC play and get those extra 2-3 yards after contact. I think we see a game much like the UT game, maybe a match score type game where we may only pull ahead by 10 at most.

    State – 41
    aTm – 35

    UF looks for blood against Mizzou
    Gators – 38
    Mizz – 17

    Another ugly game but Vandy gets the run game going
    Vandy 28
    UK 20

    As bad as we hate to see it, OM goes between the hedges and plays UGA close for awhile, and we have to hear how “we only lost by such and such or we led for 15 seconds, blah blah. But the Dawgs have Atlanta in their sights.
    UGA – 45
    OM – 30

    I think the nation gets to see just how good this Bama team is and how we really aren’t THAT bad. LSU has some ?? on offense and it all starts with the QB position. Look for that Bama D to dominate the LSU O line the same way it did ours. I think this Bama team may be the best we’ve ever seen and they want to prove it. No better way to do that but go into one of the toughest places to play and whip the tigers like theres no tomorrow. I will pull for LSU cause I don’t like Bama, but I do want the SEC to play and win another BCS title and Bama gives us our best shot.

    Bama 31
    LSU 10

    Have a good one fellas and Hail State!

    Congrats on the baby civil!! Prayers with you and your wife during this exciting time!!

    1. Imabulldog

      I agree with all that Bleed.

      For Perk, we can’t forget what he’s done for us, and he’s had one bad game against the nation’s best D. Bama was allowing just over 50 yds rushing and 8 ppg. He’ll get back on track this week and remind us all that he’s our leader in the running game. We truly have an awesome list of RBs that make our future outlook as bright as or brighter than a lot of SEC schools. I want to see them ALL run the rock! Griff back on track would be a welcome sight heading into the final stretch of games. His last couple of runs have been what we were all expecting, and Mullen mentioned last night that they are seeing the confidence again in his running, and that he appears to be over the cautiousness of his injury.

      As much as I’ll be pulling for LSU, a 20+ win by Bama over the Tigers makes us look better. And I think that will happen. Mettenberger will not get it done vs the Bama secondary. He may even take a ton of hits, considering LSU’s OL is depleted. Talented, but depleted.

    1. imabulldog Post author

      There it is! That should do it. Thanks Buzzard.

      Guys be careful heading down, will be myself in the morning.

      Go Wildcats -MHS! Go Tigers- Arlington High! Go State!

Comments are closed.